The Thar Desert Run

It was  first of its kind in India organised by Ms. Kavitha (www.globeracers.com). Actually it was a 42km x 5days = 210 km race ; 25th to 29th December 2010. But I chose to run the whole distance in one go for two reasons: (i) it suits to my style (ii) we could not afford so much time. So we (me on foot, and my friends Adhiraaj, Vikram, Sandeep, Devider, Joshi + Ravi from the Globeracers side in the supporting van) started in to the race on the 28th Dec. with the other runners starting for their 4th days marathon. It was a very nice and much effortless journey because of our dedicated team that we easily covered the firt 100 miles in 23.10hrs, 168kms in first 24 hours and then total 210 km in 31.20 hours.

Thanks to the team of Globeracers for organising such a special event, and my tream to give me the wonderful assistance.

This run helped me to throw away the unhappiness of my unsatisfactory performance in the 24 hr Commonwealth Ultramarathon Championsip in England where I could cover only 146 km.

2 Responses to “The Thar Desert Run”

  1. scott wall Says:

    Hello!!!!! I work the race, I have good friends from India. I am a CHP officer and they will watch the websight to see you finish this race!!!!

    See you there!!!! Scott

  2. abhishek ag. Says:

    Dear Arun ,
    Its a sheer pleasure to have an Indian like you, now it looks as if we aren’t much behind in autonomous sports motivated by selves, you can totally be compared to lance Armstrong.
    Looking at you, i am immensely proud as i am a marathon guy itself, doing it at the foothills of nainital, but much less than you.
    Running is truly an amazing stuff.
    Well, don’t you get problems when you have to run at night, or through a jungle area or vehicles from behind on narrow lanes?
    as that’s intimidating and scary for me!

    Wish you all the luck,health,fame & glory my friend.
    GOD SPEED!

Leave a Reply

